Our Sponsors

Click the sponsors to view


Flaherty's Pub & Grill

contact mnbowling



Dave Langer, Dan Langer, Dan Bock,Sam Sylvester,Chad Nelson


16th Annual St. Paul Team Challenge
Sunday, December 6th - Final Standings
Cedarvale Lanes
Pos # Team Name Team Captain Prize $
1 Locker Guy 1 Tom Korth
2 Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 Brent Prentice
3 Linds-Lakers Tom Corbett
4 Visionary MN 1 Al Loth
5 Farmington Lanes Green Daron Hansen
6 A - Z Pro Shop 1 Joe Cairl
7 Farmington Lanes Maroon Daron Hansen
8 Locker Guys 2 Tom Korth
9 Huikko's Wizards A Chad Huikko
10 Linds Cedarvale Lanes 2 Brent Prentice
11 Huikko's Wizards B Chad Huikko
12 A - Z Pro Shop 2 Joe Cairl


  2nd Place  Lind's                                        3rd Place Lind's Lakers

16th Annual St. Paul Team Challenge
Sunday, December 6th -- Cedarvale Lanes -- Title Play
First Match = Third Place vs. Second Place
Game 1 Game 2 Total + / - Lane
2nd Place =  Linds-Lakers 238 215 453 -71 9
3rd Place =  Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 257 267 524 71 10
Second Match = Winner of First Match vs. First Place
  Game 1 Game 2 Total + / - Lane
1st Place =  Locker Guys 1 224 258 482 112 5
Winner Match 1 Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 180 190 370 -112 6

Qualifying scores



16th Annual St. Paul Open Team Challenge

The St. Paul Team Challenge was held on December 6th in Eagan at Cedarvale Lanes. This tournament is all Baker Format style of bowling where the first bowler bowls the 1st and 6th frames, the second bowler bowls the 2nd and 7th frames and so forth. This year we had 32 teams in the tournament (32 lane center). The top prize of $1,000.00 for first place was not the only thing the teams were shooting for as we ran brackets during qualifying rounds. We were able to have some nice payouts to our teams. We were also able to cover our expenses and donate $350.00 to various YABA and Junior tournaments.

During qualifying competition the highest game bowled was a 268 by Farmington Lanes Maroon in the 1st game, Linds-Lakers in the 8th Game and Visionary MN 1 in the 12th game. Of all 32 teams, in 12 games of qualifying, the lowest game was a 117 bowled in the 2nd game. Farmington Lanes Marooned captained by Daron Hansen led the qualifying round with an average of 221.67 in 12 games. The average to cash was 202.33 and the average to advance to match play was 206.75. Also during qualifying there was a prize of $150.00 for the first team to bowl a 300. Since that feat was not accomplished, we held a drawing for the non-cashing teams. The $150.00 was given to a lucky winner picked by random draw from those who did not cash.

During Match Play Locker Guys 1 averaged 227.313 to finish in First Place after placing 2nd in Qualifying with a 220.33 average.  Linds-Lakers averaged 227 to finish 2nd and Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 averaged 222.75 to finish 3rd.  This was done over 8 Match games of 2 games each and winners obtained a maximum of 50 bonus points for each match. (Averages do not include bonus points).  Locker Guys 1 did bowl a 300 in the 2nd game of Match Play. Congratulations to them all.

In the stepladder finals, Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 bowled games of 257 and 267 for a total of 524 while Linds-Lakers bowled games of 238 and 215 for a total of 453.  Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 advanced to the final championship match. In the finals, Locker Guys 1 bowled games of 224 and 258 for a total of 482 while Linds Cedarvale Lanes 1 bowled games of 180 and 190 for a total of 370 to win the 2009 St. Paul Team Challenge.

At this time we would like to congratulate, the team members of Locker Guys 1 (captained by Tom Korth): Dan Bock, Dan Langer, David Langer, Chad Nelson and Sam Sylvester. Thank you to all the bowlers who participated. Additionally, we would also like to thank Flaherty’s Bowl, Mikes Pro Shop, On Track Pro Shop, Pearson’s Candy and the Bowling Proprietors Association for their financial assistance.

The 17th Annual St. Paul Open Team Challenge is planned for December 5, 2010 at a Bowling Center TBA and will be open to the first 32-36 paid entries depending on House Size. Paid entries start in September and typically close by the first week in November.

Submitted by:

Dennis Franz and Gary Winter
Tournament Chairpersons